

## THE STATES assembled on Tuesday. 15th December, 1987 at 11 a.m. under the Presidency of the Greffier of the States, **Edward James MacGregor Potter, Esquire.**

All members were present with the exception of –

Senator Reginald Robert Jeune – out of the Island.

Prayers

## Appointment of Presidents of Committees.

THE STATES, in accordance with Standing Order 41, appointed Presidents of Committees and other delegations of the Assembly as follows -

**Finance and Economics** Senator Reginald Robert

Committee Jeune, O.B.E.

**Defence Committee** Senator Richard Joseph

Shenton

Senator Bernard Thomas **Harbours and Airport** 

Committee Binnington

Deputy John Le Gallais of **Public Works Committee** 

St. Saviour

**Education Committee Deputy Robin Ernest** 

Richard Rumboll of

St. Helier

(Senator Betty Brooke defeated by 39 votes to 13)

Price: 35p 1

Public Health Committee Deputy Jack Roche of

St. Saviour

**Agriculture and Fisheries** 

Committee

Senator Pierre François

Horsfall

**Tourism Committee** Senator John Stephen

Rothwell

(Senator Jean Amy Le Maistre defeated by

41 votes to 11)

Social Security Committee Deputy Leonard Norman of

St. Clement

(Senator Peter Geoffrey Kevitt Manton defeated

43 votes to 9)

**Island Development** 

**Committee** 

John Pepin Le Sueur, Connétable of St. John (Senator Dereck André Carter defeated by 35 votes

to 17)

Housing Committee Deputy Hendricus

Adolphus Vandervliet of

St. Lawrence

(Deputy Corrie Stein of Grouville defeated by

43 votes to 9)

**Resources Recovery Board** Deputy David John de la

Haye of St. Helier (Senator Terence John Le Main 9 votes, Deputy Corrie Stein of Grouville 9 votes, Deputy Mervyn Renouf Billot of St. Saviour 9 votes, Deputy David John de la Haye of St. Helier

25 votes)

Policy Advisory Committee

Election deferred

Tele	commun	nications
-		

Board

Senator John William Ellis

**Etat Civil Committee** Deputy Philip George

Mourant of St. Helier (Senator Peter Geoffrey Kevitt Manton 14 votes, Senator Betty Brooke 17 votes, Deputy Philip George Mourant of St. Helier 21 votes)

**Legislation Committee** Deputy Edgar John Becquet

of Trinity

Cottage Homes Committee Deputy Margaret Sylvia

Rose Beadle of St. Brelade (Connétable of St. Saviour defeated by 46 votes to 6)

Prison Board Deputy Edgar John Becquet

of Trinity

**Establishment Committee** Deputy Sir Martin

Le Quesne, K.C.M.G. of

St. Saviour

Elizabeth House

Committee

Senator Anne Baal

**Ann Alice Rayner Fund** 

**Delegation** 

Senator Reginald Robert

Jeune, O.B.E.

**Gambling Control** 

Committee

Senator Terence John

Le Main

**Fort Regent Development** 

Committee

Senator Dereck André

Carter

(Deputy Jack Roche of St. Saviour defeated by

36 votes to 16)

Constitution Committee Senator Reginald Robert

Jeune, O.B.E.

Overseas Aid Committee

Senator Jean Amy Le

Maistre

Committee for Postal Administration

Deputy Corrie Stein of

Grouville

(Senator Jean Amy Le Maistre 15 votes, Deputy Mervyn Renouf Billot of St. Saviour 15 votes, Deputy Corrie Stein of Grouville 22 votes)

**Broadcasting Committee** 

Enid Clare Quénault, Connétable of St. Brelade

Senator Reginald Robert

Special Committee to Consider Relationship between Committees and the States

Jeune, O.B.E.

Industrial Relations

Committee

Deputy Michael Adam Wavell of St. Helier

Chairman, Joint Advisory

Committee

Deputy Jack Roche of

St. Saviour

**Industrial Disputes Officer** 

Deputy Francis Hedley Morel of St. Saviour (Senator Peter Geoffrey Kevitt Manton defeated by

36 votes to 16)

**Deputy Industrial Disputes** 

Officer

Senator Peter Geoffrey

**Kevitt Manton** 

## Senator R.R. Jeune, O.B.E. - attendance.

Senator Reginald Jeune, O.B.E., having returned to the Island, was present for part of the Sitting.

THE STATES rose at 4.35 p.m.

R.S. GRAY,

Deputy Greffier of the States.